Debating does not solve a thing. 


Titus3:9 But avoid foolish controversies,genealogies and quarrels about bathe law for they are unprofitable and worthless. 

Debate-Discussion or argument . In some cases debating can be a good thing as long as it stays a discussion. But, when it becomes something beyond a discussing a particular topic it becomes unprofitable to both parties. The reason why it becomes unprofitable is because neither party is really listening to the other. It also really doesn’t solve the issue that’s on the table either. I don’t mind discussing another religion but don’t start off by telling me my religion is wrong and trying to prove yours in correct. Once you do that you become unprofitable.Besides when we debate we show our true intentions. .

15 thoughts on “Debating does not solve a thing. 

  1. Arm5, In this pluralistic era, debate, argument, and confrontation are widely frowned upon. The popular mottos now are “tolerance” and “inclusivity.” But that was not always the case. When I read my Bible there are hundreds of examples of public confrontation of religious error. The Old Testament prophets, John the Baptist, Jesus, and the apostles all confronted religious error publicly. Thank the Lord that the Reformers believed in confrontation and debate. Religious debates were socially acceptable right up until the 1950s. Right, we’re not to engage in foolish arguments over minor issues but defending and proclaiming the Gospel aren’t minors. Relationship evangelism has its place but there’s also a place for confrontation and debate. The Holy Spirit has used both. My journey to the Lord included people and organizations who confronted and debated the error that I was raised in. Thanks.

  2. arm5 says:

    I agree with you. But also we should never sway others against their beliefs by saying your religion is wrong.

  3. But again, there are many examples in the Bible where believers told pagans and Jewish legalists their belief systems were wrong. It’s a major theme of the Bible.

  4. arm5 says:

    All I’m trying to say is people need to put there flesh into check to make sure before they start a decussion because our emotions can control us.

  5. Yes, I agree we shouldn’t argue in the flesh, with pride or hatred…admittedly not always easy to do…but saying we should never try to sway others by pointing out their religion is wrong runs completely counter to the Old and New Testaments. I don’t tell the unsaved their religion is wrong because I’m trying to trump them. They won’t know they’re on the wrong path unless someone tells them their belief system is not the Gospel.

  6. arm5 says:

    That is very true. We must try to sway the unsaved that is very true.but we must do it with patience and love or we will sound like a clanging cymbal. I actually had someone tell me not to long ago that the King James was in error.

  7. Perhaps Tom is of the opinion that if one does not somehow call another’s belief system into question so it can be examined in light of the truth, that person will never believe it must be totally abandoned. Syncretism is not acceptable to the Christian faith and allowing a discussion to proceed on the assumption that non- or anti- Christian beliefs are okay as long as you name the name of Jesus is misleading and does more harm than good in the long run. If one is unwilling to examine the root of his belief structure or if his belief structure does not permit it, shake the dust and move on. One is not converted but by the work of the Holy Spirit. Arguing and debate can only be profitable AFTER that is done, and then only in a climate of absolute honesty.

  8. arm5 says:

    Thank you . That’s what I was trying to get across in some of my comments but I guess he misunderstood me.

  9. I agree with you. I have a monthly newsletter and in my current edition I say: man evolved and are descendants of apes * the universe was created from a big bang explosion millions of years ago. Here is what God thinks about all that science nonsense: O Timothy, keep that which is committed to my trust avoiding profane and vain babblings and oppositions of science falsely so-called which some professing have erred concerning the faith Grace be with you. I Timothy 6:20 & 21

Leave a Reply

