Genesis Pt16


Halfway in between 

Proverbs 22:6  Start children off on the way should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it.

Proverbs1:8-10 

8. Listen, my son, to your father’s instruction and do not forsake your mother’s teaching 9. They are a garland to grace  your head and a chain to adorn your neck. 10. My son, if sinful men entice you, do not give in to them.

 Genesis 22:1-4

God is seen in this story as both tester and provider. 

He is free and absolute.

He is gracious and faithful.

He is demanding. 

He keeps his promise.

He can speak both death and life. 

[Today] ” Will I go all the way or turn back?”

Hebrews 11:17-18 Psalm127:1-4

1. I need the favor of God in my efforts.

2.I need to accept my limitations. 

3. I need to practice good stewardship. 

Message Summary We find ourselves about halo way through Genesis and the fulfillment of promise for Abraham and Sarah. The promised child has been given, but now their concern is shifted to managing the promise of Issac becoming a great nation. Does their commitment  lie in the promise or in the Promise-Maker? God puts forth an incredible demand upon Abraham and Sarah in Genesis 22- sacrifice the promise child. God is exalted as both the tester of promise and provider of promise, the giver and taker of life. We see where Abraham and Sarah’s commitments lay through the passing of this test; God responds, “I  know that you fear God, because you have not withheld from me your son.” (Gen22:12) The whole exchange reminds us of Psalm127 in which we are reminded that both success and the heir is our success is in the hands of God. 

2 Replies to “Genesis Pt16”

  1. The story of Abraham and Isaac has been dear to my heart the last few months because of the hope it gives me. God’s timing is not our timing and there is comfort in knowing that in Vid’s perfect time as we are tested He will rescue and deliver.

Leave a Reply

