American Church


LoveWins

” I will not fly from the post where Providence has placed me” (William Wilberforce)

” The best preparation for being a good politician as well as a superior man in every other line, it to be a truly religious man.”(William Wilberforce)

We have biblical convictions that apply to politics? 

1Cor1-3 1.If I speak in tongues of men of men and angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. 2. If I have a gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.3 I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but not love, I gain nothing. 

Love must Win!

1. Even if you have something to say… Without love… You will not be heard.

2. Even if you have a solution… Without love… You will not be received. 

3. Even if you the means… Without love… You not win. 

” In my opinion the strength of a country is most increased demand by its moral improvement and by the moral  and religious instruction of its people,”(William Wilberforce)

Eph4:15 Instead, speaking truth in love, we will grow to become in every respect the mature body of him who is the head, that is, Christ.

Who do we Obey as a Christian in America?

Acts4:19 But Peter and John replied, “Which is right in God’s eyes: to listen to you, or to him? You be the judges!

Acts5:29 Peter and the other apostles replied:” We must obey God rather than human beings!

Romans 13:1-8

1. Authority is established by God. 

2.Disobedience to Authority will have consequences. 

3. Evil Authority doesn’t let me off the hook-conscience. 

4. How to have a clean conscience owe to no one!

“Am I truly religious? Is the love of God the governing principle of my life! Do I walk under the sense of His presence? Do I converse with him from day to day, in the exercise of prayer and praise? And am I, on the whole, making my service my business and my delight, regarding him as my master and my father?” (Phillip Doddridge.

6 thoughts on “American Church

  1. 1 John 5:3- In fact, this is love for God: to keep his commands. 2 John 1:6- And this is love, that we walk according to His commandments. John 14:23-24- Jesus replied, “Anyone who loves me will obey my teaching. My Father will love them, and we will come to them and make our home with them. Anyone who does not love me will not obey my teaching. Jesus showed how much He loved God by obeying His commands in though His obedience brought about persecution and crucifixion. Love for God is obedience to Him and no one can obey His commands unless they truly believe that God exists and that he rewards those that seek Him (Hebrews 11:6). It is by obeying God and growing closer to Him that we become fruitful and produce the gifts that are referenced in 1 Corinthians 13. It all starts with love/obedience to God’s Word; which is the seed (1 Peter 1:23). No seed, no fruit.
    God bless you, I pray that God continue to open the eyes of your heart so that you see the full glory of Salvation.

  2. The situation of being a Christian in America has certainly been on my mind a lot over the few years. Especially since the Dear Colleague Letter on Transgender Students came out.

    I don’t really understand your third point under Romans 13.

    “3. Evil Authority doesn’t let me off the hook-conscience.”

    Maybe you could explain?

  3. arm5 says:

    Our convictions should guide us as Christians on how he act because one day we will have to stand in front of God and give him an account,

Leave a Reply

